Sydney OJ Dinner – 8 September 2018

The Springboks versus Wallabies Test Match in Brisbane provided an ideal opportunity for the NSW based Old Johannians to get together for a reunion dinner in Sydney. The venue was the picturesque Roseville Golf Club, and a cool, drizzly night saw the OJ’s and partners turn out in force.

Ray Dearlove opened proceedings with a welcome and showed video messages from Springbok Owen Nkumane and St John’s College Headmaster, Paul Edey. The video clip about the upcoming 125th Anniversary of the School drew admiring comments from all present and there was much nostalgia in the room.

Ray presented a “Mandela Plate” which would be handed over by the losing captain to the winning captain and Bill Revie (Clarke 1999) – Springboks, and Richard Harrison (Hill 1963) – Wallabies, were appointed captains.

George Raffan (Hill 1961) celebrated his birthday and was given a rousing rendition of “Happy Birthday”. The OJ’s certainly haven’t lost their enjoyment of singing.

Stephen Peverett (Hill 2000) kindly donated a game of golf at the lovely Moore ark Golf Course and this was a highly popular ‘Lucky Door Prize”. Four lucky diners also won a brand new rugby ball donated by Ray, while Tash Everett was the winner of the 2012 signed Wallabies Jersey, also donated by Ray.

The group feasted on a delicious dinner of scallops, qual, lamb shanks and rib eye fillet.

While the rugby result was disappointing for many, everyone agreed that is was a wonderful night renewing friendships and making new ones.

Ray Dearlove

OJ regional representative – Sydney, Australia


Above photo of all who attended

From the left back:

John Kightley, Nola Harrison, Margie Dearlove, Paul Vines, Tash Peverett, Steve Peverett, Jenny Vines, Fiona Raffan, George Raffan, Matt Lewis, Mary Ubay, Brendan Pryke, Alexandra Davis, Gary Miller, Peter Revelas, Brian Miller, Clayton Seager, Gilda Seager, David Frank, Jacqueline Lie, Francois Scheepers, Caitlin Chander, Chantell Revie, Bill Revie,


Geoff Miller, Ray Dearlove, Evan Mantis


Dr Anthony Samuels, Nick Guttentag, Inge Hoogendoorn